ToolShop | Find a REALTOR® | Find an Affiliate | Contact Us

Greater Metropolitan Association of REALTORS®

Continuing Education Requirement

The state of Michigan requires real estate licensees to earn at least 18 hours of continuing education (CE) credits every 3 years in order to renew their real estate license. The topic number and course name must be different from the other courses a licensee has taken within the 3 year period. Each year a licensee must complete at least 2 hours of education that involves law, rules and court cases regarding real estate. This is part of your 18 total for the 3 years and any extra legal hours earned count towards the total requirement. If a licensee fails to complete 2 hours of legal credit in a year they may try to make it up in proceeding years but if they are audited this does not guarantee they will not be penalized.

The current continuing education renewal period began November 1, 2018 and ends October 31, 2021. If you became licensed during the current period, your required hours may be prorated.

As of January 1, 2015, with a grant from The Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, CE Marketplace, a division of Michigan Realtors®, has taken over the tracking of continuing education credits. It is the licensee’s responsibility for documenting the evidence to support the fulfillment of Continuing Education requirements; the Department does not maintain a record of this information. CE Marketplace, a division of Michigan Realtors, offers a list of approved continuing education courses on their website as well as the ability to electronically track continuing education hours. Please note, there is no cost to licensees to utilize CE Marketplace. Licensees may set up an account at www.cemarketplace.net using their Michigan real estate license number (Permanent ID No.).

To check your CE Credits log into the CE Marketplace ».

Important 2019 Reminder About Credit Reporting!
An important change has been made to the way that continuing education credits are recorded on CE Marketplace that you need to know about. You are no longer able to self-report learning certificates on CE Marketplace. Previously, you were able to attach certificates for classes that were not CE Marketplace certified in your account. Beginning November 1, 2018, all courses must be CE Marketplace certified. This means that all of your credits will be automatically reported for you.


After your class attendance has been reported by an instructor or school administrator, you will receive a class completion certificate by email. Watch for this email to arrive! It confirms that your attendance in the class has been successfully reported and recorded in your CE Marketplace account.


Please note that your class attendance will be reported to CE Marketplace within ten days. If you do not receive the confirmation, it is your responsibility to contact the school administrator or instructor.

Further, you do not need to send proof of CE to the Department unless you are being audited and have been asked to submit the information.

If you:

  • Renewed your license in 2018 or
  • Were issued a new license between 7/1/2018 - 10/31/2019 or
  • Were relicensed between 7/1/2018 - 10/31/2019

Then you need:

  • 6 hours (2 hours each year) of CE that involves law, rules & court cases regarding real estate.
  • 12 hours of other CE
  • For a total of 18 hours of CE prior to renewing your license in 2021.

If you:

  • Were issued a new license between 11/1/2019 - 10/31/2020 or
  • Were relicensed between 11/1/2019 - 10/31/2020

Then you need:

  • 4 hours (2 hours each year) of CE that involves law, rules & court cases regarding real estate.
  • 8 hours of other CE
  • For a total of 12 hours of CE prior to renewing your license in 2021.

If you:

  • Were issued a new license between 11/1/2020 - 7/3/2021 or
  • Were relicensed between 11/1/2020 - 7/3/2021

Then you need:

  • 2 hours of CE that involves law, rules & court cases regarding real estate.
  • 4 hours of other CE
  • For a total of 6 hours of CE prior to renewing your license in 2021.

Note:

  • If you hold an associate and/or individual broker license and you have held an active salesperson license between 7/1/2018 - 10/31/2019 you are required to complete the entire 18 hours of CE.
  • If you were relicensed and used any courses to fulfill the previous year’s CE requirements, those courses cannot be used again for the 2021 renewal.


For answers to any questions about CE hours or tracking credits and class completion, visit www.cemarketplace.net or contact us at tracking@cemarketplace.net or 844.642.6633.

Visit our Calendar to view and register for in-person classes or checkout our Online Courses.

Continuing Education